Today’s Top 5: April 23, 1977 (via My Desk Diary) – aka The Monkees!!!

Forty years ago today, I was three months shy of 12 years old. I won’t go too in-depth about the wider world or even mine, as I covered both just a few weeks back, but know this: I was not music savvy. I liked The Sound of Music, enjoyed Donny & Marie and The Brady Bunch Variety Hour, and even had a few Brady Kids LPs. That was it.

Of the Bradys: Like many of my generation, thanks to its endless loop of reruns, The Brady Bunch became a series that I knew (and still know) like the back of my hand – better, in fact, because I never stared at my hand the way that I stared at the TV in those days. It didn’t matter that I never saw the show on Friday nights (we moved to Saudi in 1970, after all, so it was never an option); it was on every day, just like The Partridge Family… and The Monkees.

The Monkees made me laugh. And, too, I liked the songs – quite a bit. So, after school at 5pm, I tuned in (I think) Philadelphia’s now-defunct Channel 48, WKBS, which aired back-to-back episodes of it. And, as I noted in my desk diary this day in 1977, picked up their Greatest Hits, which had been released the previous year. (I’m actually surprised that I forgot about this LP when writing about my first tentative steps into music fandom, but so it goes.)

In the years since, I should mention, I’ve picked up more of their albums and the Listen to the Band box set, and even enjoyed their Head feature film both in an actual movie theater (the TLA on South Street, back when the TLA showed movies) and on video. But this collection, for me, is their best collection…

And, with that: Today’s Top 5: April 23, 1977 (via my Desk Diary) – The Monkees!!!

1) “Last Train to Clarksville.”

2) “Listen to the Band.”

3) “I’m a Believer.”

4) “Pleasant Valley Sunday.”

5) “(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone.”

And one bonus…

“Shades of Gray.”

Okay, two. Here’s the entire LP, which consisted of 11 songs:

Leave a Reply

